Our parenting seminars provide valuable information on parents’ rights, reducing conflict, designing effective parenting plans, the Family Court system, using mediation, and recognizing and dealing with domestic abuse. Designed for divorcing, and never-married parents needing a traditional parenting plan, and for parents and families involved in temporary and emergency guardianship cases.
Program Topics include:
The impact of family conflict on the child’s development and well-being.
Helping participants develop effective communications skills and techniques to improve impulse control
Understand the family court system, the judicial process, and the role of the court officials and parties in the case.
Types of custody, Parental and grandparents rights, and how they are established and protected.
Fundamentals of child support and the Income Shares Model used in Tennessee.
Understand the different types of parenting and non-custodial plans and how they can be effectively designed to provide a stable family environment for children and preserve parental rights.
An explanation of the mediation process and the role of the mediation developing parenting plans and agreements.
An introduction to the topic of domestic abuse, including common perpetrator behavior and the use of Orders of Protection and community resources for dealing with family violence and abuse.
Our instructors are experienced Tennessee Rule 31 Family Mediators.
Our classes satisfy the Tennessee Parenting Plan Act requirements for both divorcing and never-married parents, and have been approved by the courts in Anderson, Loudon, Meigs, Morgan, and Roane Counties. It is accepted by many other surrounding counties.There are no provisions for child care at the classes, so please do not bring children with you. For more information about our classes and mediation services please call 865-535-0037, or use the website contact form.
You will need to bring the Case/Docket Number and provide name of the court your case is being handled in for us to properly prepare your certificate. You must also have the fee paid before a certificate can be provided. You must attend the entire class to get a certificate. You do not have to attend with the other party to your case.
Class Dates: January 7th, February 4th, March 4th, April 1st, May 6th, June 3rd, July 8th, August 5th, September 9, October 7th, November 4th, December 2nd, 2017.
Registration begins promptly at 8:20 AM and classes begin at 8:30 am and last until 1:30 pm. They are held in the Torch Center Building at 320 Robertsville Road, Oak Ridge, Tennessee. Please arrive early to allow time to complete registration. The cost $25 person for clients enrolled in one of our programs. If you only take the class the fee is $45.00 per person for students who register in advance, and $55.00 for those who register on the day of class. If you are unemployed, or on low-income, please contact us for discounts and information on assistance with fees.